Watson Wins Democratic Nomination For Abbeville County Sheriff - WSPA.com

Watson Wins Democratic Nomination For Abbeville County Sheriff

Posted: Updated:

Longtime Abbeville County Sheriff's deputy Ray Watson advanced to a special election that will determine the next Abbeville County Sheriff.

Watson won Tuesday Democratic Primary by receiving 1,793 votes to gain 51 percent of the vote and secure the nomination. Chief Deputy Marion Johnson received 1,248 votes, while Bobby Hall Sr. received 279 votes and Raymond Vandiver received 196 votes.   

Watson will face Republican Skipper O'Bannon in the May 14 special election to replace former sheriff Charles Goodwin, who resigned just before he was indicted and charged with misconduct in office. Investigators say Goodwin received kick-backs from a car repair shop and used inmates to do personal work.

He was sentenced to five years probation, community service, and must pay nearly $4,500 in restitution.

Powered by WorldNow

250 International Dr.
Spartanburg, S.C. 29303

Telephone: 864.576.7777
Fax: 864.587.5430
Email: webmaster@wspa.com

Can't find something?
Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Media General Communications Holdings, LLC. A Media General Company.