Drive Shutout By Power -

Drive Shutout By Power

Posted: Updated:

Greenville Drive Release

The Greenville Drive (6-6) were happy to return home on Monday night, but Fluor Field wasn't kind to them, as they were held to four hits in a 6-0 loss at the hands of the West Virginia Power (5-7).


Walks did the Drive in on the mound, as the Power got on the board in the top of the third with the benefit of three walks issued by Drive starter Justin Haley (0-1) to lead off the inning.  Dilson Herrera followed by grounding into a fielder's choice to score the only run the Power would need on the evening.


The Power added a pair of runs in the fourth.  D.J. Crumlich drew a one-out walk, and after Raul Fortunato grounded into a fielder's choice, Jason Garcia entered the game for Haley to try and work out of the inning.  Walker Gourley would have none of it, as he greeted Garcia with a two-run shot over the left-center field fence to extend the Power lead to 3-0.


West Virginia picked up two more runs in the fifth when Josh Bell lined a double to the wall in right-center to score a pair, and their final run of the evening came in the sixth when Max Moroff's RBI single to right plated Francisco Diaz.


Power starter Clay Holmes (1-0) worked five and one-third innings to pick up the victory, as he allowed three hits and two walks while punching out four Drive batters.  Josh Smith and Ryan Hafner preserved the shutout with three and two-third innings of work.


Bell and Gourley each drove in a pair of runs for West Virginia, while Jose Vinicio collected two hits for Greenville.  He was the only player on either side with a multi-hit game.


The same two teams will meet again on Tuesday night at Fluor Field, with first pitch scheduled for 7:05 PM.  RHP Austin Maddox (0-0, 7.20) takes the mound for the Drive, while LHP Orlando Castro (0-1, 1.74) will start for the Power. 

Powered by WorldNow

250 International Dr.
Spartanburg, S.C. 29303

Telephone: 864.576.7777
Fax: 864.587.5430

Can't find something?
Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Media General Communications Holdings, LLC. A Media General Company.