Clemson Historian Wins Two Literary Prizes -

Clemson Historian Wins Two Literary Prizes

Posted: Updated:

Michael Meng, assistant professor in Clemson University's history department, has been awarded the Laura Shannon Prize and the Hans Rosenberg Book Prize for his book on Jewish ruins in postwar Europe.

His book "Shattered Spaces: Encountering Jewish Ruins in Postwar Germany and Poland" explores questions about what has happened to Jewish synagogues, cemeteries and districts after they were damaged and destroyed during World War II and recounts the efforts of European cities to recover these lost spaces.

The Laura Shannon Prize is a $10,000 award. It is given out annually to the author of the best book in European Studies that stimulates new ways of thinking about contemporary Europe. Winners of the award must be nominated then selected by a jury of five European studies scholars. Meng will accept the award and present an original lecture in the fall semester of 2013 at the University of Notre Dame. The prize is awarded by the Nanovic Institute for European Studies.

The Hans Rosenberg Book Prize is awarded to the author of the best book on Central European history. Prizes are awarded based on nominations and decisions of the Rosenberg prize committee.

Meng earned his undergraduate degree from Boston College and his Ph.D. from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. He began teaching at Clemson in 2010.

Powered by WorldNow

250 International Dr.
Spartanburg, S.C. 29303

Telephone: 864.576.7777
Fax: 864.587.5430

Can't find something?
Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Media General Communications Holdings, LLC. A Media General Company.