SoCon Superlatives Announced -

SoCon Superlatives Announced

Posted: Updated:
Sports - Southern Conference Sports - Southern Conference
Spartanburg, SC -

Southern Conference Release

In conjunction with the 2013 Southern Conference Football Media held on Wednesday, the league’s head coaches selected an all-conference first and second team. Coaches were not allowed to vote for their own student-athletes as part of the balloting. The Terriers had seven players recognized by the league’s coaches, three on the first and four on the second team.

In addition, the conference’s nine head coaches have chosen Georgia Southern as the choice to win the league championship, while Wofford was picked to finish fifth. The Southern Conference Sports Media Association also selected Georgia Southern first, with Wofford in second place.

Leading the Terriers on the first team were offensive linemen Tymeco Gregory and Jared Singleton, along with linebacker Alvin Scioneaux. Gregory, a senior from Greer, S.C., was a starter in all 13 games at left guard last season and was named second team All-SoCon. Singleton, a senior from Lugoff, S.C., started all 13 games at center last season to earn All-SoCon first team honors. Scioneaux, a senior from Garyville, Louisiana, was first team All-SoCon last season after leading the team in sacks and tackles for loss. He is on the 2013 Buck Buchanan Award Watch List.

Second team honorees include running back Donovan Johnson, defensive lineman Tarek Odom, linebacker Mike McCrimon, and safety James Zotto. Johnson, a senior from McDonough, Georgia, moves to fullback this season after playing half back in 2012 and rushing for 473 yards. Odom, a junior from St. Augustine, Florida, earned second team All-SoCon honors last season after starting twelve games at defensive end. McCrimon, a senior from Center Hill, Florida, started all 13 games at inside linebacker and led the team with 76 tackles. Zotto, a senior from Libertyville, Illinois, has started 25 straight games at strong safety and was second on the team in tackles last season.

The Terriers will report to campus on Sunday, August 4 and begin practice on Monday, August 5. A complete practice schedule will be released next week.

2013 Southern Conference Football

Preseason All-Conference Teams

Offensive Player of the Year: Jamal Londry-Jackson, Sr., QB, Appalachian State

Co-Defensive Players of the Year: Jaquiski Tartt, Jr., DB, Samford

                                                                 Davis Tull, Jr., DL, Chattanooga

First Team Offense

QB      Jamal Londry-Jackson, Sr., Appalachian State

RB       Dominique Swope, Jr., Georgia Southern

RB       Fabian Truss, Sr., Samford

OL       Kendall Lamm, Jr., Appalachian State

OL       Dakota Dozier, Sr., Furman

OL       Dorian Byrd, Sr., Georgia Southern

OL       Ty Gregory, Sr., Wofford

OL       Jared Singleton, Sr., Wofford

TE       Faysal Shafaat, Jr., Chattanooga

WR      Andrew Peacock, Sr., Appalachian State

WR      Sean Price, So., Appalachian State

WR      (tie) Kelsey Pope, Sr., Samford

First Team Defense

DL       Ronald Blair, Jr., Appalachian State

DL       Derek Douglas, Sr., The Citadel

DL       Derrick Lott, Sr., Chattanooga

DL       Davis Tull, Jr., Chattanooga

LB       Jonathan Spain, Jr., Elon

LB       Wes Dothard, Sr., Chattanooga

LB       Alvin Scioneaux, Sr., Wofford

DB      Lavelle Westbrooks, Sr., Georgia Southern

DB      Jaquiski Tartt, Jr., Samford

DB      D.J. Key, Sr., Chattanooga

DB      Kadeem Wise, Sr., Chattanooga

First Team Specialists

PK       Ray Earley, Sr., Furman

P          Ray Earley, Sr., Furman

RS       Tony Washington, Sr., Appalachian State

Second Team Offense

QB      Jacob Huesman, So., Chattanooga

RB       Darien Robinson, Sr., The Citadel

RB       Donovan Johnson, Sr., Wofford

OL       Cullen Brown, Sr., The Citadel

OL       Clay Johnson, Sr., Elon

OL       Garrett Frye, Jr., Georgia Southern

OL       Kasey Morrison, Sr., Samford

OL       Kevin Revis, Sr., Chattanooga

TE       Zeke Walters, Sr., Samford

WR      Kierre Brown, Jr., Elon

WR      Terrell Robinson, Jr., Chattanooga

Second Team Defense

DL       Gary Wilkins, Jr., Furman

DL       Javon Mention, Sr., Georgia Southern

DL       Jerry Mathis, Jr., Samford

DL       Tarek Odom, Jr., Wofford

LB       Carson Smith, Jr., The Citadel

LB       Justin Shade, Sr., Samford

LB       Mike McCrimon, Sr., Wofford

DB      Joel Ross, Jr., Appalachian State

DB      Brandon McCladdie, Sr., The Citadel

DB      Chandler Wrightenberry, Sr., Elon

DB      Ace Clark, Jr, Western Carolina

DB      (tie) James Zotto, Sr., Wofford

Second Team Specialists

PK       Drew Stewart, Sr., Appalachian State

P          Clark Sechrest, Sr., Western Carolina

RS       Fabian Truss, Sr., Samford

NOTE: Coaches were not permitted to vote for their own players.

2013 SoCon Football Preseason Coaches Poll

School (First-place votes)                  Points

1.         Georgia Southern (6)              57

2.         Appalachian State (2) 51

3.         Chattanooga (1)                      47

4.         Samford                                  43

5.         Wofford                                 40

6.         The Citadel                             33

7.         Furman                                    25

8.         Elon                                         16

9.         Western Carolina                    12

2013 SoCon Football Preseason Media Poll

School (First-place votes)                  Points

1.         Georgia Southern (15)            210

2.         Wofford (4)                            194

3.         Appalachian State (6) 190

4.         Chattanooga (2)                      176

5.         Samford                                  149

6.         The Citadel                             126

7.         Furman (1)                              107

8.         Elon                                         61

9.         Western Carolina                    47

Powered by WorldNow

250 International Dr.
Spartanburg, S.C. 29303

Telephone: 864.576.7777
Fax: 864.587.5430

Can't find something?
Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Media General Communications Holdings, LLC. A Media General Company.