Shaw, Boyd Semi-Finalists For Davey O'Brien Award -

Shaw, Boyd Semi-Finalists For Davey O'Brien Award

Posted: Updated:
Three-time NASCAR champion Tony Stewart was transported by ambulance to a hospital following a sprint car accident at Southern Iowa Speedway on Monday night. Three-time NASCAR champion Tony Stewart was transported by ambulance to a hospital following a sprint car accident at Southern Iowa Speedway on Monday night.
SPARTANBURG, S.C. - Davey O'Brien Release

Narrowed down from the starting quarterbacks from all 125

NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision schools, semifinalists were selected by the

Davey O'Brien National Selection Committee, with the Fan Vote accounting for five percent

of the total vote. The committee was asked to consider the following criteria: quarterback

skills, athletic ability, academics, character, leadership and sportsmanship.

The 2013 Davey O'Brien Semifinalists represent schools from the following conferences:

SEC (5), Pac-12 (3), AAC (2), ACC (2), Big Ten (1), Big 12 (1), Mid-American (1) and

Mountain West (1).

The list features 2012 winner Johnny Manziel (Texas A&M), 2012 finalist Braxton Miller

(Ohio State), and 2012 semifinalists Tajh Boyd (Clemson), Teddy Bridgewater (Louisville),

Marcus Mariota (Oregon), A.J. McCarron (Alabama) and Aaron Murray (Georgia).

2013 Davey O'Brien Semifinalists

Blake Bortles, UCF, AAC

Tajh Boyd, Clemson, ACC

Teddy Bridgewater, Louisville, AAC

Derek Carr, Fresno State, MWC

Brett Hundley, UCLA, Pac-12

Jordan Lynch, Northern Illinois, MAC

Sean Mannion, Oregon State, Pac-12

Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M, SEC

Marcus Mariota, Oregon, Pac-12

A.J. McCarron, Alabama, SEC

Zach Mettenberger, LSU, SEC

Braxton Miller, Ohio State, Big Ten

Aaron Murray, Georgia, SEC

Bryce Petty, Baylor, Big 12

Connor Shaw, South Carolina, SEC

Jameis Winston, Florida State, ACC

Fans may now help determine which three quarterbacks will advance as finalists by voting

as often as once daily at Fan voting will close at noon (CT) on Nov.


The three Davey O'Brien finalists will be announced on Monday, Nov. 25 and the 2013

Davey O'Brien winner will be announced on

The Home Depot College Football


airing Thursday, Dec. 12 on ESPN. The 37th Annual Davey O'Brien Awards

Dinner will be held on Feb.17, 2014 in Fort Worth, Texas.

About the Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award

The Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award is presented annually to the nation's best

college quarterback and is the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award. The

Davey O'Brien Award honors candidates who exemplify Davey O'Brien's enduring

character while exhibiting teamwork, sportsmanship and leadership in both academics and

athletics. The award is overseen by the Davey O'Brien Foundation, which is headquartered

in Fort Worth, Texas, and has given away nearly $900,000 in scholarships and university

grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into

leadership in life. For more information, visit

The Davey O

'Brien Award is a member of the National College Football Awards

Association (NCFAA) which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football.

The 21 awards boast 678 years of tradition-selection excellence. Visit t

Powered by WorldNow

250 International Dr.
Spartanburg, S.C. 29303

Telephone: 864.576.7777
Fax: 864.587.5430

Can't find something?
Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Media General Communications Holdings, LLC. A Media General Company.