Furman's Fowler Named SoCon Coach Of The Year - WSPA.com

Furman's Fowler Named SoCon Coach Of The Year

Posted: Updated:
Sports - Furman Paladins Sports - Furman Paladins
SPARTANBURG, S.C. - SoCon Release

The Southern Conference Sports Media Association selected its football all-conference team and specialty awards for the 2013 season. Samford’s Andy Summerlin earned the Roy M. “Legs” Hawley Offensive Player of the Year honor, while teammate Justin Shade was chosen as the defensive player of the year. Appalachian State running back Marcus Cox was tabbed the freshman of the year, while Furman head coach Bruce Fowler was named the Wallace Wade Coach of the Year.

Summerlin and Shade become the first Bulldogs to win the annual awards. Summerlin led the conference and ranks eighth nationally with 296.6 passing yards per game. He threw for more than 400 yards in three different contests this season. The senior also ranked among the nation’s best in pass efficiency (143.5) and total offense (290.5 ypg). Summerlin led the Southern Conference and ranked 24th in efficiency, while coming in at No. 14 in total offense. He threw touchdown passes in 11 of Samford’s 12 games this year and tossed at least two TD passes in eight different contests. Summerlin guided the Bulldogs to an 8-4 record with a 6-2 mark in league play. Samford earned a share of the 2013 Southern Conference championship for the first time since joining the league in 2008. The Bulldogs also earned their first invite to the FCS Playoffs since 1992.

Shade ranks 18th nationally and led the league with 10.0 tackles per game during the regular season, including a SoCon single-game high this season with 19 stops against Southeast Louisiana. The senior tied for the league lead in sacks (9.0) and led the conference in tackles for loss (15.5 TFL). He added five pass break-ups, a quarterback hurry and was credited with two forced fumbles on the season. Shade helped anchor a unit that was the third-best in the conference in total defense (377.9 ypg).

Cox becomes the second consecutive Mountaineer to win the freshman of the year award. Cox appeared in all 12 games for the Mountaineers and started each of the last 10 contests. The Dacula, Ga., native set a new school record for single-season rushing yards by a freshman with 1,250 yards on the ground. He also set a new mark among first-year players at Appalachian State with 21 total touchdowns. In his final game of the season, Cox rushed for 215 yards and three touchdowns on 26 carries. The 215 yards was a single-game record among Appalachian freshmen.

Third-year head coach Bruce Fowler guided the Paladins to a share of the conference title for the first time since 2004. The Paladins were picked seventh in preseason balloting but reeled off five wins in their last six games to finish the regular season at 7-5. The seven overall wins are the most for Furman since the 2008 season, while the 6-2 mark in league play is its best since the 2006 campaign. The Paladins earned the league’s automatic bid to the FCS Playoffs and will face South Carolina State on Saturday.

The group also selected two all-conference teams to go along with the specialty awards. Samford led all schools with 11 all-conference selections, including six on the first team. Furman and Chattanooga each earned eight all-conference honorees.

2013 Media All-Southern Conference Football Team

Roy M. “Legs” Hawley Offensive Player of the Year – Andy Summerlin, Sr., QB, Samford

Defensive Player of the Year – Justin Shade, Sr., LB, Samford

Freshman of the Year – Marcus Cox, RB, Appalachian State

Wallace Wade Coach of the Year – Bruce Fowler, Furman

First Team Offense

QB       Andy Summerlin, Sr., Samford

RB        Marcus Cox, Fr., Appalachian State

RB        Jerick McKinnon, Sr., Georgia Southern

OL        Dakota Dozier, Sr., Furman

OL        Dorian Byrd, Sr., Georgia Southern

OL        Kasey Morrison, Sr., Samford

OL        Kevin Revis, Sr., Chattanooga

OL        Ty Gregory, Sr., Wofford

TE        Faysal Shafaat, Jr., Chattanooga

WR       Tony Washington, Sr., Appalachian State

WR       Kelsey Pope, Sr., Samford

First Team Defense

DL        Justin Oxendine, Jr., The Citadel

DL        Gary Wilkins, Jr., Furman

DL        Davis Tull, Jr., Chattanooga

DL        Tarek Odom, Jr., Wofford

LB        Carl Rider, So., Furman

LB        Justin Shade, Sr., Samford

LB        Alvin Scioneaux, Sr., Wofford

DB       Greg Worthy, Sr., Furman

DB       D.J. Key, Sr., Chattanooga

DB       Kadeem Wise, Sr., Chattanooga

DB       Jaquiski Tartt, Jr., Samford

First Team Specialists

PK        Ray Early, Sr., Furman

P          Bentlee Critcher, Fr., Appalachian State

RS        Fabian Truss, Sr., Samford

Second Team Offense

QB       Jacob Huesman, So., Chattanooga

RB        Hank McCloud, Jr., Furman

RB        Fabian Truss, Sr., Samford

OL        Kendall Lamm, Jr., Appalachian State

OL        Jared Singleton, Sr., Wofford

OL        Garrett Frye, Sr., Georgia Southern

OL        Cullen Brown, Sr., The Citadel

OL        Manrey Saint-Amour, Jr., Georgia Southern

TE        Zeke Walters, Sr., Samford

WR       Andrew Peacock, Sr., Appalachian State

WR       Karnorris Benson, So., Western Carolina

Second Team Defense

DL        Derek Douglas, Sr., The Citadel

DL        Jerry Mathis, Jr., Samford

DL        Jeremy Towns, Sr., Samford

DL        Josh Freeman, So., Chattanooga

LB        Karl Anderson, Sr., Appalachian State

LB        Wes Dothard, Sr., Chattanooga

LB        Courtland Carson, Sr., Western Carolina

DB       Brandon McCladdie, Sr., The Citadel

DB       Jairus Holloman, So., Furman

DB       Deion Stanley, Jr., Georgia Southern

DB       Lavelle Westbrooks, Sr., Georgia Southern

Second Team Specialists

PK        Warren Handrahan, Fr., Samford

P          Ray Early, Sr., Furman

RS     Kierre Brown, Jr., Elon

Powered by WorldNow

250 International Dr.
Spartanburg, S.C. 29303

Telephone: 864.576.7777
Fax: 864.587.5430
Email: webmaster@wspa.com

Can't find something?
Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Media General Communications Holdings, LLC. A Media General Company.