ACC Welcomes Louisville, SoCon Three New Members -

ACC Welcomes Louisville, SoCon Three New Members

Posted: Updated:
C. Bulldogs September 13 C. Bulldogs September 13
Spartanburg SC -

The ACC officially welcomed the Louisville Cardinals as its 15th member Tuesday.

Louisville replaces Maryland, which has left the league for the Big Ten. The Cardinals provide a 14th team for football. League member Notre Dame participates in each ACC sport except football.

The Southern Conference also welcomed Mercer as well as the return of VMI and East Tennessee State Tuesday.  Those schools come to the league to fill the void left by departing members Appalachian State, Georgia Southern, Davidson, and Elon.

East Tennessee's football program returns to competition in 2015.

Powered by WorldNow

250 International Dr.
Spartanburg, S.C. 29303

Telephone: 864.576.7777
Fax: 864.587.5430

Can't find something?
Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Media General Communications Holdings, LLC. A Media General Company.