GREENSBORO, N.C. (WSPA) – The Atlantic Coast Conference announced Friday morning its plans to add three new teams to the league.

The ACC Presidents met and voted to add Stanford, University of California, and SMU.

The additions are in all sports and will begin in the 2024-2025 school year, according to ESPN.

Stanford and Cal are joining the ACC from the Pac-12. In addition to this loss, the Pac-12 lost Oregon and Washington to the Big Ten and Arizona, Arizona State, and Utah to the Big 12.

SMU, however, will forgo media rights revenue for its first seven years as an ACC member moving from the American Athletic Conference.

A source familiar with the process said Clemson voted no.

Clemson University released the following statement about the addition:

Clemson’s leadership has been aligned and consistent throughout this process and continues to position our University for long-term success. We respect the conference membership’s decision and welcome the University of California-Berkeley, Southern Methodist University and Stanford University to the ACC.

Clemson University.

All three schools, along with the rest of the league, may be eligible to earn additional revenue based on incentives tied to success in major sports, specifically football and men’s basketball.