Mandatory evacuation issued for NC coast, barrier islands


RALEIGH, NC (WSPA) – North Carolina Gov. Roy Cooper has ordered a mandatory evacuation for coastal areas, including barrier islands along the entire coast. 

Cooper ordered mandatory evacuations for the following counties: Pamlico, Dare, Topsail. Brunswick County residents living in low-lying or flood prone areas have also been ordered to leave.  

The evacuation order in North Carolina includes the following beaches: North Topsail, Ocracoke, Atlantic, Indian, Emerald Isle, Kure, Pine Knoll Shores and Wrightsville. Visitors have been asked to leave Oak Island, Holden and Currituck Outer Banks as well.

“The waves and wind in this storm may be like nothing you have ever seen,” Gov. Cooper said. “Even if you’ve ridden out storms before, this one is different. Don’t bet your life on riding out this monster.”

The order doesn’t apply to emergency personnel operating on the islands to secure public safety, infrastructure or emergency medical care providers.

Hurricane Track

Local Radar


Evacuation Routes
Disaster Kit


All Alerts


WX App
Power Outage


Copyright 2021 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Black and Blue Kickoff Live
Pro Football Challenge
Find A Job
wspa news app free for download choose your store below
download the wspa news app from the apple app store
download the wspa news app from the google play store

Trending Stories