PIEDMONT, SC (WSPA) - A free concealed weapons permit class is being offered to teachers and school faculty in April in response to the increase of deadly school shootings.
"We had in Parkland, a teacher and a coach they ran into the thick of that to try to protect their students and they both died. What would have happened if they had had access to a firearm?" said John Byrd, owner of Delta Defense.
While currently the state of South Carolina does not allow faculty to carry on school campus, a bill in the legislature may soon change that. So Delta Defense, LLC, a local personal protection and firearms safety organization, is taking steps forward in the hope that the bill passes and if not the class still allows the educators an opportunity.
"We've got to stop being reactive to these situations and be proactive," Byrd said.
The all-day class will be offered free of charge to teachers, faculty and administrators of elementary, middle, high schools and colleges on Saturday, April 28, 2018 from 8:30 a.m. until 4:30 p.m. Participants in the class will receive instruction in South Carolina Concealed Weapons Permit law as mandated by the State Law Enforcement Division.
Byrd tells 7News this class is just the first step. Those educators will need more classes and training before they will properly able to handle a firearm and the goal of the organization is not to arm all the teachers, but just create more of a defensive barrier.
Family and friends of educators may also participate in the class, but at a reduced rate of just $45.00 plus the required application fee; this is a savings of $90.00 off the normal class fee charged by Delta Defense, LLC.
Once participants have successfully completed the in-class portion of the training and passed the written exam, they will be permitted to schedule required range qualification at their convenience on a later date. The only fees required, of educators for this class, will be the state’s application fee of $50.00 in the form of a money order or cashier’s check made payable to South Carolina Law Enforcement Division (SC SLED).
Individuals interested in taking the class can visit the organization’s website at www.deltadefensesc.com and selecting the CWP Class sign-up located in the center of the homepage then choosing the “Family Member of Teacher” option from the drop-down menu. Family and friends of educators may sign up directly on the website while educators themselves can send an email to email@example.com. A school employment ID will be required on the day of the class to prove eligibility for the fee waiver.
- Copyright 2018 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.
- Suspect in Georgia officer's death shot, killed
- More than 30 taken to hospital after floor collapses during fraternity party
- Man found shot to death in Anderson Co. home
- Florence Co. deputy dies weeks after shooting that killed officer