President Trump OKs Hurricane Dorian aid for eastern SC

Donald Trump

President Donald Trump gives the thumbs-up as he arrives for a ceremony on the South Lawn of the White House in Washington, Thursday, Sept. 26, 2019. The president was given a plaque of appreciation from America’s Sheriffs and Angel Families. (AP Photo/Carolyn Kaster)

COLUMBIA, S.C. (AP) — President Donald Trump has issued a declaration approving specific federal assistance for South Carolina areas affected by early September’s Hurricane Dorian.

The White House on Monday ordered that federal aid be used to supplement emergency work and replacement of facilities damaged in the state’s coastal and eastern counties.

The counties affected include Beaufort, Berkeley, Charleston, Colleton, Dillon, Dorchester, Georgetown, Horry, Jasper, Marion and Williamsburg.

Trump also approved a general declaration requested by Gov. Henry McMaster ahead of the storm, which skirted the state’s coastline, bringing heavy rains and wind.

McMaster evacuated South Carolina’s coast for the storm, marking the fourth evacuation order in four years. The storm made landfall in the U.S. on the North Carolina Outer Banks on Sept. 6.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Black and Blue Kickoff Live
Pro Football Challenge
Find A Job
wspa news app free for download choose your store below
download the wspa news app from the apple app store
download the wspa news app from the google play store

Trending Stories