Georgia senators vote to end twice-yearly time changes

State News

(Nexstar DC photo)

ATLANTA (AP) — Georgia senators want to stop changing their clock twice a year, saying shifting from standard time to daylight saving time and back is disruptive.

The Senate voted 46-7 Wednesday to pass Senate Bill 100, which calls for Georgia to observe standard time year-round, unless Congress votes to let states observe daylight saving time permanently.

In that case, the bill calls for Georgia to observe daylight saving time 12 months a year. The bill goes to the House for more debate.

States can forgo daylight saving time. Currently Hawaii and most of Arizona stay on standard time all year.

Republican Sen. Ben Watson of Savannah says studies show more heart attacks and harsher sentences by grumpy judges after residents spring forward or fall back.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

High School Standouts
Ask the Expert
Find A Job
wspa news app free for download choose your store below
download the wspa news app from the apple app store
download the wspa news app from the google play store