SC Athletic Hall Special Honors Include Several Locals



COLUMBIA, SC – South Carolina Athletic Hall of Fame President Steve McGuirt has announced that Tim Bourret, Sam Wyche, Louis Sossamon, Phil Kornblut and Paul Kennemore will be honored for their various contributions to Palmetto State sports when the organization hosts its 58th annual banquet and induction ceremony on May 14 at the Columbia Metropolitan Convention Center.

Bourret of Clemson will be recognized with the Bobby Richardson Sportsmanship Award that is sponsored by the Sonny Dickinson Family. Wyche of Greenville will be honored with the Willie Jeffries Ambassador for Sports Award that is sponsored by Defender Services and Sossamon of Gaffney will be recognized with the Felix “Doc” Blanchard Athlete/Citizen Award. Kornblut of Latta will be honored with the Herman Helms Excellence in Media Award and Kennemore of Greenwood will receive the Dom Fusci Leadership in Action Award that is sponsored by Founders Federal Credit Union.

The five will be esteemed along with the new inductees of the SCAHOF Class of 2018 which includes basketball standouts Ray Allen of UConn and Dalzell, Casey Manning of USC and Dillon, and Kenny Washington of Beaufort and UCLA, Clemson wrestler Sammie Henson, USC baseball player Drew Meyer, SC State athlete Sam Goodwin and marathon swimmer Kathleen Wilson of Charleston.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Food Drive
Destination Vacation
Livin Upstate Deals
Carolina Eats Contest
Adopt A Thon
wspa news app free for download choose your store below
download the wspa news app from the apple app store
download the wspa news app from the google play store

Trending Stories